Living With Lyme’s: The Diagnosis

Imagine waking up in the morning and physically not being able to get out of bed. If you do somehow manage to sit up, it has taken every ounce of energy you have. You suffer constantly with symptoms of anxiety, depression, insomnia, memory-loss, and joint pain. Going to the doctor seems hopeless at this point because no matter how many different diagnosis’s or amount of drugs are prescribed, you never seem to get better. No matter how much you want the constant support and encouragement from your family, you frankly just do not LOOK sick and so their empathy is always short-lived. No one can be there to relate to you because no one even KNOWS what you have.

If this describes you at all, you might have Lyme’s Disease.

Lyme’s Disease is a bacterial infection, primarily caused by a deer tick usually found on the East coast. Doctors are discovering however, that the disease can be passed down through the genetic system meaning that if you had an ancestor who had the disease, you have the possibility of having it passed down to you. The disease is becoming an epidemic and is now affecting people all around the country. According to a study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, over the course of 20 years there has been a gradual increase from 10,000 to an upwards of 40,000 Lyme’s disease cases discovered in the U.S and the numbers keep increasing.

The symptoms you read about in my first paragraph are the exact things that happened to my mom for about 18 years and I witnessed everything first hand. Growing up, I thought it was normal to have a mom who took 3-hour naps every day or to be intimately familiar with the doctor’s office. As I got older, I grew to learn that she had been diagnosed with many illnesses: Chronic Fatigue, Heavy Metal Poisoning, Lymph node problems, depression, anxiety and the list goes on. The corruption in the health care system caused my mother to get even more sick as they only gave her temporary band-aids and never really searched for the root of the problem.

She eventually saw a Naturalistic doctor, where she found that everything she had been dealing with all those years was Lyme’s disease. At this late in the game however, it was too late for her. What started off as something easily treatable became a chronic illness, something that would never fully go away. The only way she can treat it now is to suppress it as much as possible.

We found out the disease was hereditary when my sister got diagnosed as well. She had been dealing with the same symptoms: rapid mood changes, depression, anxiety, and weight gain. All her symptoms led to Lyme’s.

That’s why I was shocked when I was diagnosed with it as well.

Compared to everyone else in my family, I was the healthy child. I was allergic to many of the plants in Arizona along with corn and peanuts, but other than that I had never been depressed, had major anxiety or had low energy.

Just before heading off to college, I decided to go visit my naturalistic doctor, get my blood tested and check in with how my body was doing.  Boy, let me tell ya I am so glad I went!

I sat with my mom the next week in my doctor’s office and heard him say, “Active Lyme Disease.” I was shocked because I had not shown ANY signs of Lyme’s. Thankfully, he introduced me to an experimental 8-month protocol that he had put together. All of his Lyme’s patients seemed to be fairly successful with it and so far he is very optimistic in my recovery. Along with taking out dairy and wheat products from my diet and exercising regularly, I should be able to prevent those awful symptoms and threat of chronic illness in my future.

What I hope to share in this blog is my personal journey with battling Lyme’s disease as well as be an encourager for those going through the treatment process.

Leave a Reply

