Chia Seed Pudding/Yogurt (Dairy Free)

One of the things I love about college is that you get a mixed bag for roommates. I had no idea who I was going to meet, and I was so happy to find out some of my roommates have allergies to milk and wheat. I have also been trying to cut those things out of my diet as well because of a doctor’s recommendation, so with that I have an entire new list of recipes I can’t wait to share!

I love how this recipe in particular is super low maintenance so its perfect for college students! And the ingredients are not expensive. (The chia seeds are the most expensive thing, but they last such a long time because you don’t use that much and they are great for all kinds of recipes!)

Recipe:

  • KRTV36801/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 Tbs 100% pure maple syrup or raw honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 Tbs chia seeds

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients into a small bowl, cover with saran wrap and set in the fridge overnight.
  2. In the morning, stir, then add fruit, granola, nuts or coconut flakes.

The texture of the pudding/yogurt substitute is different and can take a little getting used to. But, one cool thing about chia seeds is that they absorb water so once they activate they act as a binding ingredient and that is how the mixture is able to thicken! Also, if you eat chia seeds raw, they will activate in your stomach which can make you full for longer causing you to eat less food.

 

One thought on “Chia Seed Pudding/Yogurt (Dairy Free)

Leave a Reply

